Sign in

Compiling for Linux Debian

• A3 16 0
    Message from Audio2000 3536 on
    Linux / Debian 12 Based

I had originally put in a request to possibly offer Polyphone in a automatically generated continuous release AppImage as some Linux programs offer, but there are no plans currently to provide this.
    Therefore, I have been trying to figure how to compile a new version of Polyphone because my repo only offers version 2.2.0
    I am not experienced with compiling, I have made some progress but still cannot seem to generate a working version of Polyphone and I was wonsering if anyone would be able to help?

To start, I used the Ubuntu based instructions provided on this website because it is the closest to Debian.
    DEPENDENCIES
    A possible issue is the following dependencies required are either slightly different or not available.
    qt5-default (not available in my repo, have read that this is not used any longer? I downloaded the other qt dependencies that people mentioned in place of what this provides)
    libstk0-dev (did not have this specific version in my repo)
    libstk-dev (only this version which says 4.6.2)

COMPILING
    When trying to compile 
    I used the default settings in the "polyphone.pro" fileDEFINES += USE_LOCAL_RTAUDIO #DEFINES += USE_LOCAL_RTMIDI #DEFINES += USE_LOCAL_STKit takes a while so it is compiling but eventually it shows the following error.
    make: /usr/lib/qt5/bin/lrelease: No such file or directory make: *** [Makefile:2363: .qm/polyphone_ca.qm] Error 127Figured because my libstk file might not be the same as needed, I also tried compiling again with what I read in instructions about uncommenting the STK option in the "polyphone.pro" file
    DEFINES += USE_LOCAL_RTAUDIO #DEFINES += USE_LOCAL_RTMIDI DEFINES += USE_LOCAL_STKdoes same thing but show a different "Makefile:" number